Working With Gelatin 3

img_2971

Stiff Whipped Cream Or “Stabilized Whipped Cream”

Whipped cream can be used as frosting if someone adds something to the whipping cream to make the whipped cream stiff. Adding gelatin to whipping cream makes whipped cream stiff. The gelatin also makes the whipped cream “melt in your mouth.” The middle of Norwegian cakes made with marzipan usually have a layer of whipped cream in the middle of the cake. I found information at YouTube that gave me the list of ingredients for a marzipan cake that was similar to the marzipan cakes that I ate when I was young. I talked about cakes made with marzipan in a blog post named My Favorite Cakes Are From Norway.

To make my favorite cake, I have to know how to make stiff whipped cream. On the internet, some people call stiff whipped cream “stabilized whipped cream.” I made stiff whipped cream using 5 different types of gelatin with different ratios of water to envelopes of gelatin: 1:1, 1:2, 1:3, 50%(1:1)+50%(1:2), and 50%(1:2)+50%(1:3). I used 1/2 cup of heavy cream, 3 tablespoons of gelatin, and 1 tablespoon of baker’s sugar. 1:1 collapses. 1:2 is good for culinary purposes. 1:3 is firm and rubbery. A food stylist probably would appreciate 1:3. The 50% mixtures are good for culinary purposes. In a delicate situation, a person should consider using 50%(1:1)+50%(1:2). For most occasions, people should consider using 50%(1:2)+50%(1:3).

People would have to create an experiment to determine if they should use 1:2 or 50%(1:2)+50%(1:3). The day I made the 50% mixtures, the “melt in your mouth” qualities of the whipped cream were very appealing. I will not fail if I use 50%(1:2)+50%(1:3) to make my next Norwegian cake. Someday, I might believe that 1:2 is sufficient.

Set gelatin can be stored. The gelatin will become a liquid when the gelatin is heated. Fat in cream permits cream to become whipped cream. Since fats melt, cold whipping cream makes a greater volume of stiff whipped cream. I wanted to use gelatin at the lowest temperatures possible to keep all of the ingredients cold. If the gelatin cools at room temperature, all of the different types of gelatin are still a liquid at 80°F/27°C. If the gelatin is cooled rapidly, all of the different types of gelatin are still a liquid between 85°F/30°C and 92°F/33°C.

I believe that adding all of the ingredients to the whipping cream in the beginning while the mixer is running gives me the most amount of control. I did not have to be concerned that I was going to overbeat my whipped cream.

img_2989

Changing The Color Of Gelatin

Using more pigment should make gelatin appear darker. I believe that adding more food coloring is explained by the physics of light. Pigments absorb light which prohibits light from reflecting from an object. White light is a spectrum of colors. Based on which colors in the spectrum that the pigment absorbs, people see the color of the light that remains after the pigments subtract light from the spectrum of white light. If someone is observing a red object, the object is absorbing all the colors of light except for the red color. Red light is being reflected from the object, not white light. The more pigment that someone puts in the gelatin, the darker the gelatin will appear because more light will be absorbed, which means that less light will be reflected. I made the white gelatin with milk. I used a 1:1 ratio of water to milk.

1. “Cream Science: On Whipping, Butter, and Beyond,” Serious Eats, accessed January 9, 2017, http://www.seriouseats.com/2014/10/the-science-of-whipped-cream-butter-creme-fraiche.html.

2. “Food Science: How Whipped Cream Whips,” The Kitchn, accessed January 9, 2017, http://www.thekitchn.com/food-science-how-whipped-cream-81751.

3. “The Science of Whipped Cream and Butter,” Food Retro, accessed January 9, 2017, http://foodretro.com/the-science-of-whipped-cream-and-butter/.

2 thoughts on “Working With Gelatin 3

Leave a Reply

