Eggplant Experiment

img_4050

The flesh of eggplants is delicate. I believe that the experience of eating eggplants is greatly determined by the texture of the eggplants. A machine can puree the flesh to be too smooth very quickly. If the eggplants are over pureed, the texture will be similar to water. I was disappointed when I over pureed eggplants. A person can puree eggplants by chopping them with a knife. I put a picture in this blog post of an acceptable texture for making dips and spreads. Since I did not have tahini, I did not make baba ghanoush. I was very pleased with my eggplant spread. I wrote some things on eggplants and aubergines a couple of months ago.

  • Ingredients
    • 3 medium sized eggplants
    • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
    • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Instructions
    • Roast the eggplants on a grill, in the oven, or in a pan on a burner
    • Scoop the flesh of the eggplants into a bowl
    • Strain the eggplants
    • Barely puree the eggplant flesh
    • Add the other ingredients
    • Mix the ingredients

1. Irma S. Rombauer, Marion Rombauer Becker, Ethan Becker: The Joy of Cooking (New York: Scribner, 2006), 74-75.

One thought on “Eggplant Experiment

Leave a Reply

