Gnocchi With Chili Pepper Ragú

This is one of many recipes. The nutmeg and parmesan cheese give the dumplings an exciting flavor. Adding eggs permits me to enrich the gnocchi to make them more nutritious. Some people write that gnocchi can be made with only potatoes and flour. Enriching something made with flour may mean adding eggs and butter. I am not able to put a design around an entire dumpling when I use soft dough. Someday I will find a recipe for making firm dough that permits me to use a gnocchi board or a fork to put depressions around the entire dumpling. I made the sauce with chili peppers using my vegetable ragout recipe.

Note: 1) the sauce is very thick and small pasta seem to have no texture in the sauce, I would start with a wide pasta or noodle first, cutting lasagna in strips might be good, maybe rigatoni would work,  I have a blog post on ragu and pappardelle, probably make the gnocchi larger,  I put some variations on the recipe at the bottom, I added a lot of savory to the sauce once and the sauce was very exciting, 2) cut lasagna with a pizza cutter to make strips

Gnocchi

Shaping The Gnocchi

img_5819

img_5828

Making Gnocchi

Chili Pepper Ragú

Download The Recipes:

Gnocchi 1

Vegetable Ragout

5 thoughts on “Gnocchi With Chili Pepper Ragú

    1. I coincidentally made something similar last night. I would start with a wide pasta or noodle first. I put some variations on the recipe at the bottom. I have a blog post on ragu and pappardelle: https://timothysnapmassey.wordpress.com/2016/12/31/whole-wheat-pappardelle-with-vegetable-ragout/. Cutting lasagna noodles in strips might be good. The sauce is very thick and small pasta seems to have no texture in the sauce. Maybe rigatoni would work also. If you use gnocchi, probably make them large. I added a lot of savory yesterday and this was exciting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

