Old Glory Mold

img_6406

Here is something for a banquet table to remind people that America is my home. Having freedom is liberating. I am happy when I believe that I am safe in America. I want all people to believe that their future is exciting. Having a bunch of bananas or fruits and vegetables to put in my cooked grain reminds me why the American way of living is so special. In America, progress is just around the corner.

Note: 1) The Knox Gelatine Cookbook suggests that people should use 1 3/4:1 ratio when using molds (2:1 worked for this mold), 2) The Knox Gelatine Cookbook and the Knox Gelatine website state that the mold should be dipped in warm water, not hot water, 3) the book and the website suggest using a sharp knife with a thin blade to loosen the edges of the gelatin from a mold 

This mold is a gel. The “Old Glory” mold was made using a 2:1 ratio of gelatin to liquid and a 8:1 ratio of drops of food coloring to 1 cup of liquid containing dissolved gelatin. The white layer is made with a 1:1 ratio of water to milk. I used 12 cups of liquid in a Bundt pan to make this mold. I used cooking twine to create 2 large loops that I used to hold the pan while I dipped the pan in very hot water.

  • Red Layer
    • 4 cups water, 2 envelopes gelatin, 32 drops red food coloring
  • White Layer
    • 2 cups water, 2 cups milk, 2 envelopes gelatin
  • Blue Layer
    • 4 cups water, 2 envelopes gelatin, 32 drops red food coloring

1. The Knox Gelatine Cookbook (New York: The Benjamin Company, Inc., 1977), 7, 11.

2. “WHAT IS IT?,”  E.D.Smith® Foods, Ltd, accessed October 18, 2016, http://www.knoxgelatine.com/basics.htm.

One thought on “Old Glory Mold

Leave a Reply

