Variations On Couscous With Harissa Week 4

img_6536

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I am excited about couscous. There are 2 tablespoons of harissa in this variation. One person on the internet describes the flavor of harissa as having “a deep roasted pepper flavor with a hint of sweetness and a kick of heat.” Someone who made harissa described a recipe by writing that the “recipe produces a mild, smoky blend (of flavors).” I want to read some books on flavor someday. I have found a couple of interesting books.

I believe that DEA harissa gives couscous a smoky flavor. DEA harissa is mild. Mixing 2 tablespoons of DEA harissa in 2 cups of vegetable stock only put a small amount of heat in the couscous. DEA harissa gives someone an exciting variation for preparing couscous. I did not believe that adding more DEA harissa would be exciting. I believed that the flavor would become too smoky and that I would become uncomfortable eating something hot. I am not opposed to experimenting in the future.

The harissa from Stonewall kitchen was fresh and exciting. Harissa from Stonewall is a sauce. Harissa from DEA is a paste. A sauce can be prepared to be more refreshing by adding fresh bell peppers or other fresh vegetables. The experiences are not similar. DEA harissa is inexpensive. I enjoyed using both types of harissa. I should plan on making Moroccan harissa using a cookbook that I have, or using a recipe on the internet. I will probably have to use dried chili peppers. I am mostly familiar with Mexican and New Mexican chili peppers. Dried peppers can be used to make chili powder, paste, or sauce. People can use dried peppers to make enchilada sauce or harissa sauce.

Harissa sauce contains herbs and seasonings that are different than the herbs and seasonings in enchilada sauce. While preparing to make tamales, I coincidentally found a website that has media for dummies on how to use dried chili peppers. Most markets where I live have dried chilies. Hispanic markets and Chinese markets where I live have chili peppers. I recently got New Mexico chile peppers. Where I usually shop, New Mexican chili peppers are called Hatch chile peppers. Dried peppers are not hard to find in the city where I live. Ghost peppers are available all year! Some peppers are probably not appropriate for making harissa.

1. “Harissa Dry Spice,” The Noshery, accessed January 31, 2017, http://thenoshery.com/harissa-dry-spice/.

2. “Harissa Chili Paste,” Flavorful Journeys, accessed January 31, 2017, http://www.flavorfuljourneys.com/harissa/.

Leave a Reply

