Working With Gelatin 7 – The Temperature Of “Warm Water;” Removing Gelatin From A Metal Mold

img_9488

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Instructions for using Knox gelatin state that “warm water” should be used to release set gelatin from a mold. I used metal molds made with thin metal. The results from plastic molds made with thin plastic may be different.  Based on my experiments, 120°F/~50°C is the temperature of “warm water.” I did not include all of the pictures, but I tested water with temperatures at 140°F/60°C, 130°F/~54°C, 120°F/~50°C, 100°F/~38°C, 110°F/43°C respectively. 120°F/~50°C was the lowest temperature that I used that released set gelatin from a mold. I was able to remove set gelatin from a mold with my hand at 110°F/43°C, but not by using gravity.

One thought on “Working With Gelatin 7 – The Temperature Of “Warm Water;” Removing Gelatin From A Metal Mold

Leave a Reply

