Strawberry Confiture Episode 1

Strawberry Confiture Episode 1

IMG_5515

This idea gives strawberries a very different and pleasing flavor. This recipe is from the book of Jacques Pépin named Heart & Soul in the Kitchen. He mixes three pounds of whole strawberries with 3 cups of sugar in a roasting pan. He roasts them slowly for 24 hours at 170°F/77°C. I will have to be more careful in the future because I have a jar of hard candy in my refrigerator. The syrup was too thick.  I also forgot to stir them. I may not be able to roast them for 24 hours in my oven. I am going to try this again, because the flavor of roasted strawberries is pleasing.

1. Jacques Pépin: Heart & Soul in the Kitchen (New York: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company, 2015), 385.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Confiture Episode 1

Leave a Reply

