Crêpes With Raspberry Jam And Ricotta

Crêpes With Raspberry Jam And Ricotta

IMG_6000

IMG_6033

I used a recipe for making crepes from Jacques Pépin’s Complete Techniques. The entire idea for this recipe is at Williams-Sonoma. This recipe is great. This was not flour flavored dish water. The crepe batter is exciting and it is salty and sweet. The crepes are tender and very flavorful. I made the crepe batter in a blender. I let the batter rest to make the crepes tender.

After skimming through an article [1], I decided to believe that letting the batter rest permits the gluten to relax. If the gluten was elastic, the crepes would be dense and rubbery. Maybe gluten makes dough elastic similarly to a rubber band. When the gluten in pizza crust has been overworked, similarly to a stretched rubber band, a pizza crust will contract, or the rubber band will return to the original size of the rubber band [1]. When gluten is relaxed, the rubber band has no tension. If the gluten is not overworked, then the pizza crust will not become elastic. People should be playing with a rubber band when they read this explanation. They should be stretching it, relaxing it, and then coiling it. I will think about this more later.

I used a stainless steel pan. I had no problems. I used a pastry brush to put a little melted butter on the pan for each crepe. The crepes are not paper thin. The recipe should have made 24 crepes, and I was able to make 14. Rather than using 2 or 3 tablespoons, I used 1/4 cup or 4 tablespoons. I mixed 15 oz of ricotta with 2 tablespoons of sugar and I melted raspberry jam. Then I spread cheese on the crepes and I folded the crepes. After spreading cheese on the crepes and folding them, I spooned hot jam on the crepes. I used a sieve to sprinkle powdered sugar on the crepes. These crepes were great. They are pleasant and only the jam has a strong flavor. The sugar and ricotta have a mild flavor and a great texture. I have always wanted to have this opportunity.

Because of how my stove top is arranged, the non-stick frying pan is there to protect the small burner from becoming dirty while I work over the burner with batter. I observed that I should remove the steel pan from the heat when I put batter on the steel pan. I held the steel pan over the non-stick pan while I put batter in the steel pan. I put the batter in the pan with a cup just over the pan; I did not hold the cup from a high place over the pan. Next time I will put the batter in a 1 quart measuring cup that I will use to fill my “ladle.” A technique of Jacques Pépin is to fill the pan generously and then after swirling the pan, to pour (return) the remaining batter in the bowl containing the batter. This technique requires someone to trim (remove) the part of the crepe that sticks to the edge of the pan.

IMG_5812

Download The Recipe:

Crêpes

1. Jacques Pépin: Jacques Pépin’s Complete Techniques (New York: Black Dog & Leventhal, 2001), 657.

One thought on “Crêpes With Raspberry Jam And Ricotta

Leave a Reply

