Veal Chops Dijonnaise Made With Ground Veal Steaks And Steamed Green Beans With Lemon Juice And Freshly Made French Bread

Veal Chops Dijonnaise Made With Ground Veal Steaks And Steamed Green Beans With Lemon Juice And Freshly Made French Bread

IMG_8472

Heart & Soul in the Kitchen is an exciting cookbook. I used what I had in my pantry to make this dinner. This is a recipe from the book of Jacques Pépin. The sauce is flavored by deglazing the pan with wine and by adding demi-glace [1][2], cream, and Dijon mustard. This recipe is very good. The most interesting part of the recipe might be the light flavor of mustard in a pan sauce flavored with meat. I want to make this again with finer ingredients. I had to reduce a quart of broth to make a substitute for veal demi-glace. Jacques Pépin recommended reducing stock, but I only had broth. To compensate for the amount of salt in the broth, I had to omit using salt while cooking the meat. Next time I will use a low sodium stock or broth. The sauce was still great, but I believe that it would be much more delicate made with demi-glace. I have a book of cooking techniques by Jacques Pépin that includes the instructions for making demi-glace, and there are French grocers online that sell veal demi-glace. This ground veal had so much flavor. The flavor is delicate. The flavor of tarragon compliments this sauce and the flavor of meat and mushrooms. I was very happy to make this recipe.

Preparing Dinner

An Intensely Flavored Reduction Of Beef Broth To Make A Substitute For Demi-Glace

Download The Recipes:

Veal Chops Dijonnaise and Peas With Basil

French Bread

Leave a Reply

