Borlotti Bean Ragù Of Thomas Keller

Borlotti Bean Ragù Of Thomas Keller

IMG_3558

IMG_3513

I have eaten beans to survive. I used to eat bean burritos when having fun was my occupation. Beans remind me that I believe that life should be exciting as a party everyday. These beans remind me how exciting life would be if I was excited about waking up to work with beans. I enjoy life when I am dreaming about being awake in my dreams, when I dream that I am still having fun while I sleep. I should not be able to distinguish between my life and my dreams.

These beans from Rancho Gordo were the most flavorful beans I have eaten. This recipe is by Thomas Keller. He suggested these beans. Rancho Gordo says that they are heirloom beans. Heirloom ingredients supposedly have not been altered by industry or technology. Once I found out that someone sells them where I live, I crossed the city on a bus. The beans sat in my pantry for weeks. I was excited by the picture when I entered my pantry. Cooking them was exciting. The flavor of the beans confirmed what I was told. The beans are very flavorful.

This Borlotti [1][2] Bean Ragù is a very good recipe. I appreciate how much information Thomas Keller shares with people. The big flavors in this ragù might be the bacon, thyme, and chives in a creamy sauce made with butter, stock, and red wine vinegar. Making an emulsion with butter and stock or water is an interesting technique that Thomas Keller uses in this recipe. Butter and water may only mix while they are warm. Thomas Keller calls this mixture an emulsion. An emulsion is a mixture of two substances that cannot mix without an emulsifier. I believe that heat is the emulsifier for this sauce. Egg yolks supposedly can create an emulsion from some oils and liquids. In some books, people call an emulsifier a liaison.

The beans are cooked separately. The recipe instructs someone to cook the beans in water with a sachet [1], a leek, carrot, and an onion. The sachet contains bay leaves, peppercorns, garlic, and thyme. The recipe includes garlic confit. I talked about garlic confit in my blog post Chicken Ballotine With Smashed Potatoes. Once the beans and garlic confit have been prepared, the beans are mixed with bacon, rendered bacon fat, butter, shallots, garlic confit, thyme, and red vinegar. After cooking and seasoning these ingredients with salt and pepper, the recipe instructs someone to add chicken stock and more thyme. The chicken stock and the butter emulsify to create a creamy sauce. After adding more seasonings or red wine vinegar, the recipe adds chives to the ragù.

Note: 1) Thomas Keller does not give amounts for salt, pepper, or for additional red wine vinegar, he says to use pepper heavily, I used Diamond Kosher salt, I seasoned the 8 cups of water used to cook the beans with 1 1/2 tablespoons of salt, I seasoned the ragù with 3/4 teaspoons of salt, and 1 teaspoon of freshly ground pepper (medium, not fine or course), I used an additional 1/2 tablespoon of red wine vinegar

Preparing The Beans

Garlic Confit

Preparing The Ragu

