Buttermilk Fried Chicken Of Thomas Keller

Buttermilk Fried Chicken Of Thomas Keller

IMG_5982

I cannot believe that Chef Thomas Keller shared this recipe. This is the greatest fried chicken I have ever eaten. He shared his special knowledge for knowing how to cook dark and white meat at different temperatures. He cooks dark meat low and slow, and he cooks white meat at a greater temperature for half of the amount of time that he uses to cook dark meat (see notes below). I talked about white and dark meat in my blog post Whole Roasted Chicken On A Bed Of Root Vegetables Of Thomas Keller. Some people might argue that the meat will become oily if the chicken is cooked at low temperatures. The dark meat was not oily. I wonder if a beignet absorbs oil at low temperatures. Knowing these cooking times makes me happy.

Note: 1) I talk about frying in my blog post Potato Spirals And French Fries, 2) I talk about saving oil after deep frying in my blog post Saving Cooking Oil After Deep Frying, 3) I talk about jointing poultry and game in my blog post Baked Rabbit With Mustard Crust And Sautéed Brussels Sprouts Of Jacques Pépin

I discussed brining in my blog post Brining Meats And Fish. Osmosis carries the flavor of the brine through the meat. The smell of molecules of aromatic herbs and lemons frying made me happy. I tasted the brine, and the flavor of the brine in the fried chicken was very similar to the brine when it was a liquid. This is exciting because I dreamed about making Mexican Fiesta Fried Chicken. A person should be excited to experiment by making 1 quart of brine for a chicken breast or thigh [1][2].

Note: 1) Thomas Keller may describe frying the chicken in sauté or fry pan, I deep fried the chicken because I enjoy deep frying; if the chicken is not submerged, flip the chicken over after half of the amount of cooking time, a thermometer usually is designed to work in a saucepan or Dutch oven, not a pot

Thomas Keller’s coating for the chicken was very flavorful. I was very excited when I tasted the flavor of the coating of the fried chicken. Thomas Keller is the best! I am excited to use his cookbook on baking, Bouchon Bakery. His mastery of French cooking techniques and methods is exciting.

Download The Recipe:

Restaurant Recipe: Buttermilk Fried Chicken from Ad Hoc (CORRECTIONS: BRINE: 1 cup Diamond Kosher Salt (3/4 cup Morton Kosher Salt), 1/4 cup clover honey, 6 bay leaves, 1/2 head of garlic (cut at equator, crosswise), no rosemary, 1/2 bunch flat-leaf parsley, 2 1/2 lemons halved; COOKING: move chicken in oil after 2 minutes to prevent burning, 320°F/160°C for dark meat [legs and thighs] for about 11 – 12 minutes or until golden brown [experiment/check using internal temperature], 340°F/171°C for white meat [breasts and wings] for about 6-7 minutes or until golden brown [experiment/check using internal temperature]; SERVING: sprinkle with special salt, warm in the oven for 2 minutes at 400°F/240°C)

1. Thomas Keller: ad hoc at home (New York: Artisan, 2009), 16, 339.

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk Fried Chicken Of Thomas Keller

Leave a Reply

