Pupusas With Melted Onions And Aioli

Pupusas With Melted Onions And Aioli

IMG_7948

Since I have a big bag of Maseca[1], and since I plan my menus one month in advance because I use a budget to control my spending, I will be ignoring the current new stories about Salvadoran gangs. This blog post must be a coincidence.

I enjoyed the summer of 2013 by watching the Food Network at night. During one episode of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, Guy Fieri visited the Tortilla Café in Washington, D.C.. The Tortilla Café is a Mexican and Salvadoran restaurant. A woman showed people how she makes pupusas. Pupusas are thick stuffed corn tortillas. I made this recipe by watching her in the video. She seasons the masa with adobo seasonings, fajita seasonings, cumin, and paprika. Masa is dough made with corn flour. I used Maseca to make masa. Maseca is a brand of corn flour. If I remember correctly, she also substitutes water with stock when making masa.

I made these savory Salvadoran pupusas using ideas from my blog for making French cuisine. These pupusas were very exciting. I have never eaten more exciting food. I was happy to take some of my favorite things and make them so desirable to serve. I have spent a lot of time lately thinking about cooking, and this is one my first creations.

These pupusas are made with spiced masa, and they are stuffed with chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and shredded “queso quesadilla” cheese. I warmed them on the stove to brown the tortillas. After I covered them with melted onions and shredded “queso quesadilla” cheese, I warmed them in the oven. I served them with American aioli over the cheese and onions. The experience of eating them was very rewarding.

The idea is similar to making enchiladas with spicy tortillas (recipe appears below), melted onions, and American aioli. The spices are available at Penzeys or Mexican grocery markets. The sachet I used for making the onions is in my recipe for Pinto Beans, but I only used 1 teaspoon of Mexican oregano. Stuff the tortillas with chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and cheese. Put a second tortilla over the stuffing. Cover the pupusa with melted onions and cheese. Bake the pupusas for 5-10 minutes at 425°F/220°C. After removing the pupusas from the oven, cover them with room temperature aioli. Heating the aioli may cause it to curdle or separate.

Tortillas

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Maseca
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons adobo seasonings
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fajita seasoning
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika

Instructions

  • Mix ingredients to make the masa
  • Make 12 balls with equal weights
  • Squish (press down on) each ball between plastic wrap with a saucepan

Pupusas

IMG_7948IMG_7885

Spicy Tortillas

IMG_7730

Melted Onions

Leave a Reply

