Jalapeno Poppers Experiment 2

Jalapeno Poppers Experiment 2

IMG_9877

Note: 1) I blanched the jalapenos for 3 minutes, because blanching green beans for 4 minutes makes them soft, 2) I am thinking about panko, or corn flakes, and mixing the cream cheese with something

These poppers are light. Weight is a property of an object. Mexican culture usually makes me happy. Being disappointed is a sin in one of the dominate mythologies of America. Disliking the fruits of the earth is a clear sign of disappointment. Jalapenos have seeds. Job had to learn the hard way [1][2]. He was violated by God’s henchman. He did not know how to toss his white beans in vinaigrette, or how to eat cheese as a separate course.

I used every technique I know to make a popper savory and exciting, but I did not have the results that I desired. I blanched them in salt water. I refreshed them in ice water. I seasoned the cream cheese, and I seasoned the coating. I used Maseca and all-purpose flour, but I was not excited. The raw jalapenos had good flavor. Maybe I will have to dip them in a soufflé batter and bake them in the oven. Baking powder might change their flavor and it might make the batter rise while it cooks. Blanched jalapenos have great texture and flavor.

Blanching Water: 1 cup Diamond kosher salt : 1 gallon water

Cream cheese: 1/2 teaspoon Diamond kosher salt : 8 ounces cream cheese

Coating: 2 teaspoon Diamond kosher salt : 1/3 cup all-purpose flour or Maseca

Coating Made With Maseca

IMG_9666

Coating Made With All-Purpose Flour

IMG_9877

Leave a Reply

