Thomas Keller’s Herb-Crusted Rack of Lamb with Honey Mustard Glaze

Thomas Keller’s Herb-Crusted Rack of Lamb with Honey Mustard Glaze

IMG_0745

Since I was disabled by my hunger, I did not use paper frills or the guard of honor or crown roast presentations for racks of lamb. The crust on these lamb chops was sweet and interesting. Lamb appears to be a red meat with a soft texture and a delicate flavor. I do not believe that veal is red. But both probably have a pleasing soft texture. The flavor of red meat may include a stronger flavor from minerals in the blood of the meat. I was excited to eat lamb.

Where I usually shop, grass-fed meat has a different color and a different flavor than grain-fed meat. The flavor of grass-fed meat is significantly different and exciting. There are places that feed animals with scientifically formulated diets with grain. This meat has a lot of flavor. I believe that the flavor includes minerals similar to iron. I have pictures of cows in my memories from Oregon or Europe where cows feed in pastures (pasture-raised), but I believe that a ranch usually gives cows feed. The feed can be made from grain or grass. I believe that sheep are usually fed grass in pastures.

Note: 1) the chemicals that make grass green may be responsible for the differences between grass-fed and grain-fed meat, 2) since cows probably evolved to eat grass rather than corn, maybe a cow can digest grass more efficiently (to enhance growth optimization/maximization)

The breadcrumbs were mixed with parsley, rosemary, anchovies, and butter. This created an original complex flavor that I appreciated. I enjoy the strong flavor and the fresh smell of flat-leaved parsley. The flavor of the fresh rosemary was similar to the smell of pine needles. I used the anchovies because the flavor appeals to me. The glaze was made with clover honey and Dijon mustard. Clover honey is significantly different. The flavor of the glaze made the meat more exciting.

Next time, I will be cutting the racks to make pieces with 2 bones in each piece. Despite reading that the rack should be cut to include 2 bones in each piece of lamb, I cut most of the pieces to have 1 bone in each piece. I wanted to serve this as finger food. If there are two bones, there is more meat. More meat gives someone a greater opportunity to appreciate the delicate texture and flavor of the lamb.

IMG_0757
IMG_0736
IMG_0703
IMG_0684
IMG_0667
IMG_0624

Mise En Place To Hand [1][2]

Download The Recipe:

Thomas Keller’s Herb-Crusted Rack of Lamb with Honey Mustard Glaze

2 thoughts on “Thomas Keller’s Herb-Crusted Rack of Lamb with Honey Mustard Glaze

  1. There were many great flavors. Some people believe that rare lamb should be 145F rather than 130F. Cutting the rack to have pieces with 2 bones will give someone an opportunity to appreciate the flavor of the meat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

