Salvadoran Pupusas With Spicy Ragout

Salvadoran Pupusas With Spicy Ragout

IMG_1996IMG_1992

Note: 1) my blog post Knowing Sauce Is Important explains how to economically prepare ragout, 2) reduce the amount of tomatoes to intensify the flavor of the sauce (this note was added to the recipe), 3) consider enriching the masa (dough) with eggs

Note: 1) the best pan for cooking pupusas is probably a cast iron pan, despite giving a pupusa an interesting appearance, constant medium-low heat appears to stain a steel pan

The pupusas that I previously made in my blog post Pupusas With Melted Onions And Aioli were not authentic. They were made by putting a filling between 2 thick corn tortillas. While I was playing with masa (dough made with corn flour), I found a website at Pinterest that showed me some pictures. The trick to making pupusas is adding a very small amount of water to masa for tortillas. These pupusas were made with 1 cup of Maseca. The recipe for tortillas adds 3/4 cup of water to 1 cup of Maseca. To make pupusas, add 1/2 tablespoon or less of water at a time to tortilla dough until the edges of a big ball of dough do not crack when the ball is flattened. The dough seems to be more dry when someone adds salt. I used 1/2 teaspoon of table salt. I stuffed the pupusas with a mixture of chopped green beans and cotija cheese. I put spicy ragout and a mixture of bread crumbs and the filling over the pupusas.

I cooked the pupusas using several methods. 6 minutes on each side over medium heat in a non-stick pan works well. Using a steel pan, someone must cook a pupusa between medium and medium-low for 7-8 minutes on each side. Cooking them over medium heat will stain the pan. Cooking them for 7 minutes will reduce the amount of browning. The pupusas cooked on a steel pan had the best flavor. If using a non-stick pan is similar to using a steel pan, I might suggest using lower heat and cooking pupusas for a longer amount of time. Someone must decide if they want a lightly browned crispy surface or browned crunchy surface. I used vegetable oil and corn oil. The flavor of pupusas cooked in corn oil was not exciting. I preferred pupusas cooked in vegetable oil. I did not cook pupusas in canola oil.

I finally finished my vegetable ragout recipe. It is my first tomato sauce. The recipe was originally for a vegetable ragú, but since I had to be interested in French cooking and culinary arts books from French schools to learn to think about cooking, the recipe became a vegetable ragout. This pureed stew is great over pasta, rice, biscuits, or pupusas. Someone would probably become confused searching for an elbow in this sauce. Since it is very thick, the pasta must be very thick or big. The idea for this sauce is to use vegetables, herbs, and spices from different cultures to make a tomato sauce. Use vegetables from ratatouille to make a French ragout, or use chili powder and peppers to make a Mexican ragout. The special ingredients I used for the ragout to put over pupusas in this blog post were mini sweet peppers, beef broth, cumin, and Chardonnay.

Steel Pan Between Medium and Medium-Low For 8 Minutes On Each Side (I Would Try 7 Minutes In The Future)

Steel Pan Medium Heat For 5 Minutes (Stains The Pan)

Steel Pan With Corn Oil Between Medium and Medium-Low For 8 Minutes On Each Side (I Did Not Like The Flavor)

Non-Stick Pan Medium For 5 Minutes (Great Results, I Would Try Lower Heat And Longer Time In The Future)

Spontaneous Starting Place (Too Thick, Raw Dough In The Middle, Or Brown And Bake)

Download The Recipe:

How to Make El Salvadoran Pupusas

Vegetable Ragout

2 thoughts on “Salvadoran Pupusas With Spicy Ragout

Leave a Reply

