Foie Gras

Foie Gras

IMG_2687

Is it possible to appreciate French cuisine without having foie gras? I was timid about force feeding birds, and castrating chickens because I watch YouTube videos [1][2][3][4]. Today, however, it appears that I am no longer timid! Today, I enjoyed being French.

Using my personal vocabulary to share my experience, I want to explain that this foie gras was exciting. The first bite was intense; the strong flavor of liver and the great flavor of truffles was present in the first bite. After the first bite, the strong flavor of liver was replaced with the pleasant flavor of liver (a pleasant flavor). This foie gras was similar to cream cheese or mousse. The foie gras melts in the mouth similarly to fat in whipped cream. Products from D’Artagnan are very clean, flavorful, and exciting. Their cookbook has recipes that seem similar to the recipes that Brillat-Savarin describes in his book. I want to stuff a bird with foie gras and truffles. I am very excited I had this experience.

Classical Bean Burritos – Restoring Reality

Classical Bean Burritos – Restoring Reality

IMG_2565IMG_2511IMG_2523IMG_2524IMG_2533IMG_2537

Note: 1) consider using more salt, 2) consider flavoring the burrito or the beans with (Mexican) seasonings; sprinkle Mexican seasonings over the beans

These burritos were masterpieces! After a night of pleasure, drained and ready to restore myself, seeing the white neon light from the sign at a drive thru at an authentic Mexican restaurant is similar to reading the excitement Brillat-Savarin had when dining in France. One of my preoccupations is having the knowledge to restore the culture of my personal neighborhood. This is my new bean burrito. I used all the experiences that I have had in the past 6 months to create something this objective and classical. People put cheddar cheese in bean burritos where I lived. This cheddar had a lot of great flavor. Sometime soon, I will have to put a horchata or tamarindo recipe on the blog!

IMG_2565

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound pinto beans
  • 3 cups onions, medium dice
  • 4 large jalapenos, small dice
  • 1 head garlic, minced
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro
  • 2 teaspoons table salt (4 teaspoons Diamond kosher, 3 teaspoons Morton kosher, 2 + 1 pinch Baleine sea salt)
  • 2 quarts water (8 cups water)
  • Sachet
    • 2 large bay leaves (3-4 smaller bay leaves)
    • 20 peppercorns

Instructions

  • Soak beans overnight
  • Drain beans
  • Make sachet
  • Make a bouquet garni using the cilantro
  • Put everything in a slow cooker
  • Cook on low for 6-8 hours
  • Reduce, stirring often, especially when the gravy thickens, until the beans float in a thick gravy, about 30 minutes
  • Cool the beans to about room temperature before serving

Download The Recipe:

Mexican Beans 2