Buttermilk Crepe Chicken Enchiladas Verdes With Mexican Crema

Buttermilk Crepe Chicken Enchiladas Verdes With Mexican Crema

IMG_3610

IMG_3629IMG_3630

Note: 1) I changed the amount of epazote in the brine because I wrote down the amount for fresh herbs, not dried herbs, I assume that since dry herbs do not contain water, they should weigh about half the weight of fresh herbs

This is my new recipe. Some people call these enchiladas Suizas (Swiss enchiladas) supposedly because they are creamy. These enchiladas were SO GOOD that someone might want to believe that they deserve to be called the best! The aroma of the brine for the chicken and the flavor of the roasted chicken were SO EXCITING that I was able to hallucinate that I was somewhere special in Mexico. I used Thomas Keller’s recipe for making chicken brine, and I substituted lemons with limes, parsley with cilantro, and thyme with epazote.

Epazote is an herb. It smells similar to dill but the flavor was a combination of many great flavors. Someone on the internet described the flavor of epazote as a combination of oregano, anise, fennel, or even tarragon, but stronger [1]. I agreed with this explanation. The flavor was more attractive than any flavor that I had experienced in my life. This experience restored my faith in the importance of knowing gastronomy for having a better life.

The sauce is a recipe by Pati Jinich. The flavor of this green sauce was incomparable. It may have been perfect! I had to travel to find cilantro that was not sour. Her cookbook Pati’s Mexican Table: The Secrets of Real Mexican Home Cooking was one of the first cookbooks that I got before I started my cooking journey. I had exhausted my desire to sauté food in a fry pan, and I lacked the knowledge and experience I needed to recreate the exciting flavors from the places I visited when I was a young person. With the help of people similar to Pati Jinich, Thomas Keller, and many others, I am finally able to happier because when I eat the most exciting things, I become a happier person.

The enchiladas were made with buttermilk crepes from my blog post Buttermilk Crêpes. I used queso Chihuahua to make the enchiladas. I baked the enchiladas in a 400°F/204°C oven until the cheese was slightly browned, for about 15 minutes. I checked the enchiladas in 5, 3, or 2 minute intervals. The enchiladas were garnished with queso fresco and Mexican crema from a recipe in my blog post Mexican Crema And Pupusas Made With Taco Spices.

IMG_3567

Brining The Chicken

 

Trussing The Chicken

IMG_3222IMG_3230IMG_3239

Roasting The Chicken

IMG_3461

Making The Sauce

Making The Enchiladas

IMG_3567IMG_3610

Download The Recipes:

Buttermilk Crepe Chicken Enchiladas Verdes

Buttermilk Crêpes

Mexican Chicken Brine

Cooked Green Salsa

Mexican Crema

1. Pati Jinich: Pati’s Mexican Table: The Secrets of Real Mexican Home Cooking (New York: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013), 22, 145.

2. Thomas Keller: ad hoc at home (New York: Artisan, 2009), 339.

3. America’s Test Kitchen: Best Mexican Recipes: Kitchen-Tested Recipes Put the Real Flavors of Mexico Within Reach (Massachusetts: America’s Test Kitchen, 2015), 10.

Leave a Reply

