Gorditas Experiment

Gorditas Experiment

IMG_3390

Note: 1) I am not able to find information on why eating salad dressing is different than eating fried food, there must be a chemical reaction or something that changes the molecules of oil to make them harmful, I must continue to be superstitious about believing that fried food is harmful

The bag of masa hernia says that the flour can be used to make gorditas and pupusas. I made these without looking at a recipe. This process is not usually successful on the first attempt, but it permits me to learn and make important observations. These are my initial observations.

A pupusa is probably between 1/4-inch to 1/2-inch thick and it is cooked on the surface of a frying pan. Deep frying a pupusa adds a significant amount of great flavor to the pupusa. Since the pupusa is too thick to open similarly to a pita, it is not a gordita. A gordita is 1/4-inch thick or less. It is cooked on the surface of a frying pan, and then deep fried. Gorditas are probably only fried for about 30 seconds or less. Some people say they are cooked once they float, but a thin gordita floats as soon as it is put in the oil. Some people make gorditas with masa harina, all-purpose flour, or baking powder. A sopapilla appear to be made with all-purpose flour, but without yeast. A fried scone may be usually made with yeast. If I remember correctly, a churro is made with puff paste.

I cooked these in a non-stick fry pan with a very heavy bottom over medium heat for 2 minutes on each side. I deep fried them for about 30 seconds. Sometimes I flipped some of them over in the oil. Flipping them over required a skimmer and a knife or fork.

When making gorditas to serve at a fiesta or to customers, people should consider adding 1/2 teaspoon or more table salt to each cup of flour. Making them savory (more flavorful) makes them more exciting. I stuffed my gorditas with European and American fillings to be exciting. Someday I will make a savory filling, but I was only experimenting when I made these things. I am going to make sopapillas sometime soon!

Gorditas Made With Corn Masa Flour With Brie

IMG_3390

IMG_3407IMG_3420

Gorditas Made With Corn Masa Flour, All-Purpose Flour, And Baking Powder With Hazelnut Butter Or Honey And Butter

Deep Fried Pupusas Have Great Flavor


IMG_3161IMG_3149

Download The Recipe:

Gorditas