Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza Experiment Continued 4 – Mexican Style

Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza Experiment Continued 4 – Mexican Style

IMG_3982IMG_3954IMG_3999IMG_4007IMG_4013

Note: 1) poke holes in the dough of the top crust, 2) I am thinking that I should blind bake crusts to solve my problem, 3) Maybe cooking at 350°F/177°C will reduce the thickness of the crust

I created a new pizza dough recipe! The recipe includes cornmeal. I need to add butter to the recipe, or replace the corn oil with butter. I created a new recipe to have whole or even numbers of cups by reducing the amount of water in an old recipe. Someday I will study the recipe by using baker’s percentages. Thomas Keller uses the idea of baker’s percentages in some of the recipes in his cookbook Bouchon Bakery.

Baker’s percentage expresses each ingredient in parts per hundred as a ratio of the ingredient’s mass to the total flour’s mass (that is, the unit mass): For example, in a recipe that calls for 10 pounds of flour and 5 pounds of water, the corresponding baker’s percentages are 100% for the flour and 50% for the water.

Baker percentage – Wikipedia
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/baker_percentage

The final recipe will probably have to be made with slack dough (soft and sticky), because this dough is chewy, but it has an exciting flavor. I do not currently have the experience for making slack dough. Maybe I only have to use more water. Eventually, I will probably have to use cake or pastry flour (from someone similar to Bob’s Red Mill) to make softer dough. Cake or pastry flour supposedly has less gluten. Gluten makes the dough tough. Italian flour for making pizza dough supposedly has less gluten than all-purpose flour. If I try this, I will probably experiment with stone ground corn meal. I explained how to identify the amount of gluten in dough in my blog post Great Balls Of Gluten.

This is a Mexican pizza. I used taco spices and Mexican cheese rather than herbs. This worked well. If someone believes that my sauce recipe is too rich, the amount of herbs or seasonings can be reduced since the herbs and seasonings probably create the rich flavor. Also, the tomato sauce can be eliminated from the recipe. Mixing Italian herbs and Mexican seasonings creates a very rich sauce. Next time I will trim the dough inside the pan to mimic the effect for using a pan with a smaller height. The decorations on the edges of the crust were not extremely exciting. Someday I might use a different pan, but my goal was to use this springform pan.

My new procedure for making bread with a mixer in my blog post Thomas Keller’s Recipe For Making Breadcrumbs And The Ideas For My Improved French Bread Recipe works perfectly. The machine kneaded the dough well. I want to make a Chicago deep dish pizza using a recipe by America’s Test Kitchen. Also, I want to make a pizza that uses techniques from Thomas Keller’s cookbook Bouchon Bakery to make a sourdough crust. I finished reading this book yesterday, and now I am able to think more clearly while I work, my mise en place [1] is improving, and I will be a better consumer. One of my favorite things in a cookbook is being introduced to the author’s shopping experiences. Bouchon Bakery introduced me to so many things that I have seen and that I wanted to understand.

Using The Mixer

IMG_3737IMG_3758IMG_3763IMG_3766IMG_3774IMG_3778IMG_3782IMG_3786IMG_3790

The Sauce

IMG_3798IMG_3803

Making The Pizza Crust

Making The Pizza

Making Bread Sticks

Serving The Pizza With Salad

IMG_3986

IMG_3955

Download The Recipe:

Pizza Sauce

Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza Dough 2

Leave a Reply

