Croque Monsieur With Salmon And Bluecheese Mornay On Thomas Keller’s Sourdough Bread

Croque Monsieur With Salmon And Bluecheese Mornay On Thomas Keller’s Sourdough Bread

IMG_5835
IMG_5747IMG_5753
IMG_5812

Note: 1) melt the cheese by putting the sandwich in the oven, not the broiler

This is my first croque monsieur [1]. Someone may translate croquet monsieur to be mister crunchy. This is a French sandwich. The inside of a croque monsieur encloses meat, usually ham, between two layers of béchamel or Mornay sauce. A chef would probably prefer less pungent flavors, but I enjoyed this sandwich. It was my new version of a tuna melt.

My next blog post will reveal the incomparably flavorful recipe for Thomas Keller’s sourdough bread. I have not tasted bread with flavor this exciting since about 1985. There was a brand of freshly made sourdough bread from San Francisco where I lived that had great flavor. This bread reminded me that I enjoy eating bread. The starter for this loaf of bread was about 6 days old. The smell of the bread was great. People should desire to toast sourdough bread with butter. The smell and flavor of toasted sourdough bread is very interesting. It reminded me of something important from my childhood.

Download The Recipe:

Thomas Keller’s Croque Madame | Dish

Daniel Bouluds Bar Boulud Croque Monsieur

Leave a Reply

