Mole Perfection 1

Mole Perfection 1

IMG_6418

This recipe is complete. This mole is immortal! I did not know that this recipe would be so good. There is an interesting picture of these giant pupusas at my Instagram website. If I had a cake ring, I would have cut the pupusas with greater precision. I made the masa for the pupusas spontaneously and I added more water. Working with soft dough is easier than working with the firmer dough that I described in my blog post on pupusas. This mole is a combination of all my European cooking experience and my great appreciation for Mexican cuisine. This is may be the best!

Make my ragout (or roast): purple onions, carrots, celery, 2 yellow bell peppers, mini sweet peppers, 2 heads of garlic, 2.5 pounds of fresh tomatoes or 2 large cans of whole (American style) tomatoes, crimini mushrooms, and some basil covered with 1/4 cup of olive oil

While the vegetables are roasting make 3 cups of broth:

  • 3 cups water or juices (thawed frozen fresh vegetables make juices)
  • 1/4 cup Mexican seasonings (for example, Penzeys Arizona Dreaming)
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons masa flour
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • 2 teaspoons Diamond kosher salt (1 teaspoon table salt, a little more than 1 teaspoon Baleine sea salt, 1 1/2 teaspoons Morton Kosher salt)
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Future Variations:

  • Honey, agave, granulated sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Bananas

IMG_6431IMG_6423IMG_6425IMG_6428

Download The Recipe:

Mole Perfection 1

One thought on “Mole Perfection 1

Leave a Reply

