Tuna Fish Sandwich

Tuna Fish Sandwich

IMG_6762

In my previous blog post, I explained that when my mother attended school, we survived on ramen, tuna fish sandwiches, and milk. This is how my tuna fish sandwich appears after 30 years. Toasted day old sourdough is firm. If I had fresh sourdough, I would probably avoid the toaster. When the bread is crusty, the tuna falls out of the sandwich because hands cannot squeeze the bread around the filling. Nevertheless, this was great! I used white tuna, mayonnaise, and homemade sourdough bread. Thomas Keller’s sourdough recipe is exciting because it uses a lot of liquid levain [1][2]. The bread is tangy. After 2 weeks the levain has an exciting tangy flavor mixed with alcohol. I am ready to make something to drink! This is my favorite bread.

I have levain in the refrigerator and the freezer. To use the levain in the refrigerator, I put it on top of the refrigerator overnight, and then I feed it twice. This process requires about 36 hours. I put the levain in the refrigerator after about 2 hours after making it. I put the levain in the freezer after 12 hours of fermentation. This routine does not offend my current schedule. If I keep my levain alive, I will have to periodically replace the levain in the freezer with levain from the refrigerator. There is a section in the Bouchon Bakery cookbook that may suggest that levain is completely mature after 2 weeks. This means that there is no reason to replace my levain in the freezer. Maybe I will replace the levain in the freezer to avoid freezer burn.

 

Leave a Reply

