Emily’s Famous Hash Browns And Thomas Keller’s Scrambled Eggs

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns And Thomas Keller’s Scrambled Eggs

IMG_7037IMG_7030IMG_6978IMG_6983IMG_6993IMG_7010IMG_6995IMG_7008IMG_7020IMG_7023IMG_7026IMG_7037

Note: 1) after putting salt on the potatoes, let them stand for 5 minutes to remove water from the potatoes, 2) remove the hash brown from the oil with a spatula, put it on a plate, cover it with a different plate, flip the plates over, use the spatula to return the hash brown to the oil, 3) I used the heat between medium and medium-high, 4) consider only frying the hash brown for 7 minutes on each side, 4) bacon does not stick to the bottom of a pan when it is fried in oil, 5) this small bâtard was made by cutting a baguette flattened by hand in half, and then stacking the dough, and flattening the pieces together before shaping the bâtard (see my blog post Julia Child Gave Me What I Wanted – To Observe People Using Advanced Bread Making Techniques)

This is similar to how American people ate when I was young. I knew people that liked their bacon crisp, or their eggs medium. Where is the coffee? I went to a restaurant every Saturday morning with my father and grandmother for several years. This is how breakfast appears now!

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns are very flavorful. I like these a lot! She adds onion, flour, and salt to grated potatoes. Since I already “mastered” cooking grated potatoes in my blog posts on rösti, I changed the recipe to make things more convenient for myself. I used 2 pounds of potatoes, and 1/2 of a medium sized yellow onion. After grating and rinsing the raw grated potatoes, I drained them and mixed them with 1 tablespoon of table salt. Much of this salt is removed when someone squeezes the water from the potatoes. These are the techniques I discovered while making rösti. Finally, I fried Emily’s hash browns in corn oil for 8 minutes on each side and then I baked them for 15 minutes in a 400°F/205°C oven. I chose this temperature because I had just removed fresh French bread from the oven.

Thomas Keller’s Scrambled Eggs recipe was a disaster. Someone must have made a mistake because the recipes in his books are usually very reliable. This recipe requires 1 teaspoon of salt. This was too much salt. The technique is to use a French sauce pan to scramble strained eggs. The strainer removes a lot of thick white protein. In his books, Thomas Keller may explain that this is the part of the egg that connects the yolk to the whites. He uses a zoological term to identify this exact part of the egg, but I would have to turn every page of more than one book to find the word. Once the eggs are creamy, he adds crème fraîche. I will have to do this again, because the results from making this recipe spontaneously are very different.

Download The Recipes:

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

Thomas Keller’s Scrambled Eggs

One thought on “Emily’s Famous Hash Browns And Thomas Keller’s Scrambled Eggs

Leave a Reply

